Adults

State tax forms have arrived and are located in our main desk area next to the elevator. Some Federal tax forms have arrived. If the form you need is not available here, you can visit the Wisconsin Department of Revenue website or the Federal IRS website to print forms. Library staff will be happy to print forms for you, however standard copy fees apply at ten cents per page. Disclaimer: Librarians are not tax experts and will not be able to answer tax-related questions beyond printing out requested forms.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys has been selected as the 2018 communty read title. Salt to the Sea takes place in 1945 during World War II. The war is drawing to a close in East Prussia and refugees are desperate to make it out. The story is told in alternating points of view, among them, Joana, Emilia, Florian and Alfred, whose paths are forced together on their route to the ship that they hope, will provide them with the freedom they deserve. Readers follow the characters as they struggle to their goal, the Wilhelm Gustloff, which is not the salvation that they had hoped it to be. The Wilhelm Gustloff proves to be the greatest maritime disaster, something that history has forgotten.

Ruta Sepetys will be presenting at four locations around the Fox Valley. The public is encouraged to attend her presentation at Kaukauna High School on Thursday, April 12th at 12:45p and at Appleton North High School that evening at 6:30p. Ruta Sepetys will also be presenting at Appleton Public Library on Friday, April 13th at 10:00a. Thomas A. Lyons Fine Books and The Reader’s Loft will be selling copies of her books at the presentations and Ms. Sepetys will be signing books after. Neenah High School students will also be learning from Ms. Sepetys; however their presentation is for students only and not open to the public. The Fox Cities Reads is a Fox Cities Book Festival community read in partnership with Fox Valley public libraries. For more information on events, please visit the Fox Cities Book Festival website.  

Monday, January 29, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, February 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, April 23, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, May 21, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, June 25, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, July 23, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, August 20, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, September 24, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, October 22, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, November 12, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Monday, November 26, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Join us for critiquing and writing sessions as a group! Meets in the Conference AB.

Monday, January 8, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Monday, February 5, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Monday, March 5, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Monday, April 2, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Monday, May 7, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Monday, June 4, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Monday, July 2, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Monday, August 6, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Monday, September 10, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Monday, October 1, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Monday, November 5, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Monday, December 3, 2018 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm

Participants are encouraged to bring projects, both completed and those you are working on finishing to share. Together we can share creative ideas, learn various forms of crafts and meet new people with a common interest in fiber arts. On occassion, presentations from artisans on specific fiber arts will be planned. Fiber art topics include, but are not limited to: quilting, spinning, rug hooking, sewing, knitting, and crochet. Meets in the Conference Room (except on 4/2 meets in Board Room).

Friday, March 9, 2018 - 9:00am to 5:00pm

Join us in celebrating our second anniversary at our new Library and in celebrating you, our wonderful patrons! There will be children's crafts and activities all day along with special events! 9:30a Dance Party (preschool), 11:30a Nintendo Switch Mario Kart Tournament (school-age) and The Magic of Daryl Rogers at 3:00p (all ages).

Saturday, March 10, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am

Questions about probate?  Wills & estates? A small claims matter?  Landlord/tenant rights, family law or other legal issues?

The Kaukauna Public Library Free Legal Clinic may be able to help with your legal questions.  The Clinic operates on a question and answer forum where participants have 10 to 15 minutes to ask questions.  One or more local attorneys will be available at each clinic to answer questions, as well as introduce topics and give free generic legal answers. All questions are answered in the most confidential manner possible.

The Free Legal Clinic is provided to offer guidance and consultation to the increasing number of people in the Kaukauna area with legal questions, to offer advice and consultation on a variety of common legal issues. Clinic located in Study Room A.

*Disclaimer: Free Legal Clinic attorneys do not provide representation. The forum is for simple general legal advice to those with questions related to small-claims, probate, wills and estates, landlord-tenant, divorce and family law, debtor, creditor, bankruptcy, traffic, criminal, and several other areas. Participants will be asked to sign a waiver acknowledging there is no attorney client relationship and that the Library is not providing legal advice.

Monday, January 8, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Monday, February 12, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Monday, March 12, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Monday, April 9, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Monday, May 14, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Monday, June 11, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Monday, July 9, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Monday, August 13, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Monday, September 10, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Monday, October 8, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Monday, November 12, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Monday, December 10, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm

Memory Cafes are for those experiencing early stage dementia, mild memory loss, or cognitive impairment, and for family and friends of those affected.  It's a great opportunity for lively discussions, information gathering, refreshments, camaraderie, and lots of creative fun thrown in.  We have a gerontology professional on hand to answer questions and an enormous weath wealth of experience among participants to be shared.  A program sponsored and held by the Fox Valley Memory Project. Meets in the Conference Room.

Tuesday, January 9, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, April 10, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, May 8, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, June 12, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, July 10, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, August 14, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, October 9, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, November 13, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Tuesday, December 11, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am

 

Book Discussion Book for March 13, 2018: The Woman in Cabin 10

Lo Blacklock, a journalist who writes for a travel magazine, has just been given the assignment of a lifetime: a week on a luxury cruise with only a handful of cabins. The sky is clear, the waters calm, and the veneered, select guests jovial as the exclusive cruise ship, the Aurora, begins her voyage in the picturesque North Sea. At first, Lo s stay is nothing but pleasant: the cabins are plush, the dinner parties are sparkling, and the guests are elegant. But as the week wears on, frigid winds whip the deck, gray skies fall, and Lo witnesses what she can only describe as a dark and terrifying nightmare: a woman being thrown overboard. The problem? All passengers remain accounted for and so, the ship sails on as if nothing has happened, despite Lo's desperate attempts to convey that something (or someone) has gone terribly, terribly wrong.

 

About the Author

Ruth Ware grew up in Sussex, on the south coast of England. After graduating from Manchester University she moved to Paris, before settling in North London. She has worked as a waitress, a bookseller, a teacher of English as a foreign language and a press officer, and is The New York Times bestselling author of In a Dark, Dark WoodThe Woman in Cabin 10 and The Lying Game. Her next book, The Death of Mrs. Westaway, will be available in May 2018.  She is married with two small children. Visit her at RuthWare.com or follow her on Twitter @RuthWareWriter.

Monday, March 19, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Join us to learn arm knitting! All supplies will be provided, however if there is a specific yarn you would like to use, please bring super bulky acrylic/wool. Registration required and begins 3/12). To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk). The program will be held in Conference Room ABC.  

Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Learn the proper technique and timing for starting your garden plants from seed.  The program will include some great info for adults as well some fun stories for kids.  Everyone will leave with some planted seeds to care for. Program held at 1,000 Islands Environmental Center.*

Monday, April 2, 2018 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Come make a fun spring inspired painting! All supplies will be provided. Registration required and begins 3/26. To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk). The program will be held in Conference Room ABC.  

Monday, April 16, 2018 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm
Monday, April 23, 2018 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm

Come make a pillow with us in this two part series. You must attend both sessions to complete the project. The first session will include patterning and cutting your project. Sewing will occur at the second session. Each participant will leave with one completed pillow after the second session. All supplies will be provided, however if you are interested in bringing your own fabric, please bring at least two yards. Registration required and begins 4/9. To register, stop by the service desk or call 766-6340 (press for service desk). The program will be held in Conference Room ABC.  

Monday, April 30, 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 9:00am to 8:00pm

Join us for our used book sale to benefit the Friends of the Kaukauna Public Library! Materials range in price from $.25 to $1.

Pages